There are a lot of people who are still uninformed about Halal meat. There are some who buy it because they have assumed that this is a certain type of “health food” that can make them lose weight or at least will be healthier than the usual type of meat. For others, they feel that this is a premium type of meat that can be purchased for a lower price than the usual meat products. What is halal? Halal refers to food (which is not limited to meat) that can be considered lawful to be eaten. These are food products allowed to be eaten according to the Islamic Sharia Law.
In order to know if the food is halal certified or not, there are some halal certification agencies available. They are in charge of checking if the meat were slaughtered according to the Islamic laws. When the seal is present, this informs the buyers that there are no components found in the meat that are considered unlawful or forbidden. The halal certificates are issued for free. If in case you have already seen the Halal Certification in some of the food products that you purchase, you cannot help but become curious about its opposite which is the haram.
If you have not realized yet, haram refers to forbidden. These are different food products that are not allowed to be consumed by Muslims because of certain components. Some of the products that are considered haram are meat from any forbidden animal. The pig is considered to be the most forbidden but other carnivorous animals are not allowed as well. There are times when meat that is usually considered halal can be considered as haram because of the way that they are slaughtered. The typical way of slaughtering animals involves stunning them first before they are killed. The proper halal way does not stun the animals. Instead, the animals are supposed to face the mecca as they are slaughtered while giving praise to Allah. If an animal is not killed this way, the meat of the animal will be considered as haram. Other forbidden food products are:
- Meat from hindquarters
- Any animal that has fangs
- Insects that are considered to be dirty and/or ugly such as worms, mosquitoes and flies
- Birds that have talons
- Dead animals
A halal certification company usually has a few guidelines when it comes to deciding whether the product is considered halal or haram. Basically, even halal food products that come in contact with haram will be considered haram as well. Here are the usual guidelines that are followed:
- The product will be considered haram if the food or the beverage is considered to be unlawful by Allah.
- The way that the product has been acquired will also play a huge role on the possibility of the product getting halal certified or not.
- If the food product or the material is considered to be harmful for the health, it will automatically be classified as haram and will not get the halal certification seal.
Consuming halal certified products checked by halal certification agencyis meant to help Muslims to preserve the purity of their religion.